Sarvadeshik Hindu Sabha

To counter the challenge from the Muslim League, founded in 1906, the politically conscious Hindus founded the Punjab Hindu Conference in 1909. In 1915, at its annual meeting, this conference renamed itself the Sarvadeshik Hindu Sabha, and in 1921, the Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha. By the mid-1930s, the Mahasabha, under the leadership of V.D. Savarkar, began to expound a Hindu nationalism opposed …

You need to be an IASPOINT member to access this content. Click Here for Membership details.

This article is a part of our content of Integrated UPSC /IAS General Studies - Target 2018 membership programme.