Theosophical Society

The Theosophical Society was founded by Madame Blavatsky and Col. Olcott in New York in 1875. The founders arrived in India in January 1879, and established the headquarters of the Society at Adyar near Madras. In 1888, Mrs. Annie Besant joined the Society in England. Her membership proved an asset of greatest value to the Society.

The Theosophical Society stood for making a comparative study o…

You need to be an IASPOINT member to access this content. Click Here for Membership details.

This article is a part of our content of Integrated UPSC /IAS General Studies - Target 2018 membership programme.