The Four Noble Truths are a central theme in the Buddhism. Which among the following statements conform to the Four Noble Truths?
1. To live is to suffer
2. Origin of suffering is attached to desire
3. Individualism contributes to suffering
Choose the correct option from the codes given below:

Answer: [D] 1, 2 & 3

“To live is to suffer” is the essence of first noble truth. It means that life is accompanied by inevitable pain, sickness and disappointment. However, this is life and we live it. While living life we suffer, because suffering is part of living. In the second noble truth there are three kinds of desires: desire for sense pleasure (kama tahna), desire to become (bhava tanha) and desire the get rid of (vibhava tanha). The second noble truth basically states that the origin of suffering is attached to desire. According to teachings of Buddha, individualism contributes to suffering. Buddha says “there is only one of you, if you overemphasize your desires you are not doing your best.” The meaning is that if you are only looking out for your own self and your own well being you are not doing your best because there are so many other people out there that you could be helping.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module