Consider the following:
1. Kashmir Valley
2. Tamil Nadu
3. Arunachal Pradesh
4. Rajasthan
One can fine tertiary coal in which among the above regions / states?

Answer: [D] 1, 2, 3 & 4

Kashmir Valley-Nichahom lignite, Former South Arcot (Now Cuddalore and surrounding area) of Tamilnadu and of Kerala, Jaipur, Nazira and Makum coalfields of Assam ; Namchick and Namphuk coalfields of Arunachal Pradesh. Palana of Rajasthan; Katch of Gujarat, Darranggiri, Rongrenggiri in the Garo Hills; Cherapunji, Mawlong and Shilong in Meghalaya, Mikir Hills in Upper Assam, and Coals of Jammu coalfields– Kalkot, Metka, Mahogala, Chakar Dhanwal Sawalkot-Lodhra, Kura and Chinkah. All of them are sources of tertiary coal.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module