With reference to the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, which among the following is / are correct statements?
1. All permanent members of the United Nations Security Council have signed and ratified it
2. Only India, Pakistan and North Korea are not a party to the treaty
3. Non-proliferation, disarmament, and the right to peacefully use nuclear technology are the three pillars of NPT
Choose the correct option from the codes given below:

Answer: [B] Only 1 & 3

Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty is a treaty to limit the spread of nuclear weapons, opened for signature on July 1, 1968. There are currently 189 countries party to the treaty, five of which have nuclear weapons: the United States, the United Kingdom, France, Russia, and the People’s Republic of China (the permanent members of the UN Security Council). Only four recognized sovereign states are not parties to the treaty: India, Israel, Pakistan and North Korea. India, Pakistan and North Korea have openly tested and declared that they possess nuclear weapons. Israel has had a policy of opacity regarding its own nuclear weapons program. North Korea acceded to the treaty, violated it, and later withdrew. The treaty was proposed by Ireland and Finland and they were the first to sign. The signing parties decided by consensus to extend the treaty indefinitely and without conditions upon meeting in New York City on May 11, 1995. The NPT consists of a preamble and eleven articles. Although the concept of “pillars” appears nowhere in the NPT, the treaty is nevertheless sometimes interpreted as having three pillars:Non-proliferation, disarmament, and the right to peacefully use nuclear technology.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module