Which among the following are provided by the WTO to Least Developed Countries (LDCs) to make them enable to reap the benefits of multilateral trading system?
1. Extra time for implementing the obligations
2. Technical Assistance
3. Financial Assistance
Choose the correct option from the codes given below:

Answer: [A] Only 1 & 2

Technical assistance and capacity building are core elements of WTO’s work. More than two thirds of WTO Members are developing countries. The WTO helps these Members to fully benefit of the multilateral trading system (MTS) in various ways. The WTO Agreements contain special provisions for developing countries, including longer periods to implement their obligations and measures to increase their trading opportunities. WTO’s Trade-Related Technical Assistance (TRTA) activities and programmes are geared towards sustainable trade capacity-building in beneficiary countries. Capacity building also involves providing assistance to build the supply-side capacity and infrastructure needed in these countries to expand their trade. Please note that WTO does not provide Financial Assistance to the LDC member countries. However, there are ways via which developed countries provide financial assistance to LDCs.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module