Consider the following statements:
1. No person can become member of both Finance Commission and Planning Commission
2. The members of Finance Commission are appointed by President
Which among the above is / are correct statements?

Answer: [B] Only 2

Shri B.K. Chaturvedi was appointed by the Union Government as Member, Planning Commission (June, 2007) and, subsequently, in addition to it, he was also appointed as Member, Thirteenth Finance Commission (November, 2007). He is currently working on both these assignments.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module