Consider the following categories of the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species:
1. VU
2. EN
3. CR
4. EW
Which among the following is the correct order of the categories showing increasing threat to the species in these categories ?

Answer: [A] 1, 2, 3, 4

  1. Extinct (EX) – No individuals remaining.
  2. Extinct in the Wild (EW) – Known only to survive in captivity
  3. Critically Endangered (CR) – Extremely high risk of extinction in the wild.
  4. Endangered (EN) – High risk of extinction in the wild.
  5. S. Vulnerable (VU) – High risk of endangerment in the
  6. Near Threatened (NT) – Likely to become endangered in the near future.
  7. Least Concern (LC) – Lowest risk.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module