Which among the following is / are considered to be Shruti Literature?
1. Vedas
2. Brahmans
3. Aranyakas
4. Upanishads
Choose the correct option from the codes given below:

Answer: [D] 1, 2, 3 & 4

The Vedic literature is broadly divided into two categories viz. Shruti and Smriti. Shruti is “that which has been heard” and is canonical, consisting of revelation and unquestionable truth, and is considered eternal. Shruti describes the sacred texts comprising the central canon of Hinduism viz. Vedas, Brahmanas, Aranyakas, & Upanishads. Smiriti literally means “that which is remembered, supplementary and may change over time”. It is authoritative only to the extent that it conforms to the bedrock of Shruti and it is entire body of the post Vedic Classical Sanskrit literature. It comprises Vedanga, Shad darsana, Puranas, Itihasa, Upveda, Tantras, Agamas, Upangas.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module