Consider the following:
1. Block Mountains
2. Fold Mountains
3. Residual Mountains
Which among the above terms can be correctly used for Aravalli ranges?

Answer: [B] Only 2 & 3

The mountains which are subjected to weathering and erosion for a long time, are lowered down and are called Relief or Residual mountains.

The mountains of the Western Ghats, the Aravalli Mountain and the Parasnath mountain of Bihar belong to this type.

Aravalli is also the oldest fold mountains.

Please note that:

  1. Aravalli → Old Fold as well as Residual mountains
  2. Himalaya →New Fold mountains
  3. Western Ghats → Block as well as Residual Mountains.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module