The Saririka Stupa, Paribhogika stupa and Uddeshika stupa were three Major types of Buddhist stupas. Consider the following statements with this reference:
1. The Saririka Stupas contain buried bodily remains of Lord Buddha
2. The Uddeshika Stupas contain buried belongings of Lord Budhha
Which among the above is / are correct?

Answer: [A] Only 1

  • Sariraka Stupa – buried bodily remains of the Buddha
  • Paribhogika stupa – buried belongings of Lord Buddha
  • Uddeshika Stupa – Memorial

The Hindu

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module