The newly launched Rashtriya Kishor Swasthya Karyakram focuses on:
1. Sexual and reproductive health of the adolescents
2. Gender based violence
3. Non-communicable diseases
Choose the correct option from the codes given below:

Answer: [D] 1, 2 & 3

Eight years ago, the same ministry had launched an Adolescent Reproductive and Sexual Health (ARSH) programme. This programme was mainly aimed at improving sexual and reproductive health of the adolescents. Since the programme did not look beyond reproductive health, this new programme has been crafted, so that it may bring into new dimensions such as mental health, nutrition, substance misuse, gender based violence and non-communicable diseases. Thus, the new scheme includes the six key focus areas as follows:

  • Sexual and reproductive health
  • Nutrition, injuries and violence (including gender-based violence)
  • Non-communicable diseases
  • Mental health
  • Substance abuse.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module