Consider the following viceroys of India:
1. Lord Elgin
2. Lord Mayo
3. Lord Lytton
4. Lord Northbrook
The tenure of which of the above was collectively called as Policy of Masterly Inactivity?

Answer: [C] Only 1, 2 & 4

Policy of Masterly Inactivity (1862-76)

The reigns of Lord Elgin-1 862-63, Lord Lawrence (1864-69), Lord Mayo (1869- 72) and Lord Northbrook (1872-76) is called the period of Policy of masterly inactivity in history. The main object of the policy during this period was let things go quietly on to give the land rest. It was a policy as opposed to Forward Policy followed by Lord Lytton.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module