The period of 8th to 10th century in India is known for a Tripartite struggle. Who among the following were the parties to this tripartite struggle?

Answer: [A] Rastrakutas, Palas and Gurjara Pratiharas

The Tripartite struggle describes the period between the 8th century and the 10th century in which India witnessed a struggle for the resources of the rich Gangetic Plains. The three (tri-) parties involved in this struggle were – The Rashtrakutas in the South, The Pala dynasty of Bengal and the Gurjara Pratihara dynasty reigning from Malwa.The Tripartite struggle was a struggle for power and control over the central Gangetic valley among three major empires in India during the 8th Century.
Thus lured by the immense strategic and economic potentialities of the kingdom of Kannauj, the Gurjara-Pratiharas of Bhinmal (Rajasthan), the Palas of bengal and the Rashtrkutas of Manyaketa (Maharashtra) fought against each other. This tripartite struggle continued for nearly a century and ultimately ended in favour of the Gurjara- Pratihara ruler Nagabhata II who founded the Gurjara-Pratihara kingdom at Kannauj which survived for nearly to centuries.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module