Consider the following paramilitary forces of India:
1. Indo-Tibetan Border Police
2. Border Security Force
3. Assam Rifles
4. National Security Guard
Which among the following is the correct chronological order in which they were established?

Answer: [D] 3 1 2 4

The Assam Rifles raised as Cachar Levy in 1835 is the oldest Central Para Military Force in India.

The Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) was raised on October 24, 1962 in the wake of Chinese aggression for re-organizing the frontier intelligence and security setup along the Indo-Tibetan border covering 2115 kms from Karakoram pass to Lipulekh pass.

BSF came into existence in December 1965 by amalgamation of various state police battalions into B.S.F. The Force was thus raised with a meagre strength of 25 battalions as against the present size of 175 Battalions. Presently, it is manning 6623 kms of international borders with Pakistan and Bangladesh.

NSG was raised in October 1985 as a Federal Contingency Force under the MHA.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module