Which among the following is / are Tiger Range Countries (TRCs)?
Choose the correct option from the codes given below:

Answer: [D] 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5

Tiger Range Countries

The 13 Tiger Range Countries (TRCs) are Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, India, Indonesia, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Thailand and Vietnam. However, these 13 Tiger Range Countries cannot implement the global tiger recovery programme without the support of the countries which are destination or transit points for the illegal tiger trade. The total wild population of tigers is 3200. Only 6 subspecies exist viz. Sumatran, Bengal, Amur, Indochinese, South China and Malayan tiger. The number of Sumatran tigers is 400 and it is 12% of the global tiger population. In India 1400 tigers are left. India’s project tiger was launched in 1973. The first governmental meeting on tiger conservation was held in Kathmandu, Nepal in October 2009. This meeting had recommended a series of 15 global actions that need to be taken to change the trajectory of tigers from extinction to recovery, as well as commitments from several tiger range countries. Later, first Asian ministerial conference on tiger conservation was held in Hua Hin, Thailand in January 2010. This conference adopted the goal of doubling the number of tigers by 2022. 2022 is the next Year of the Tiger. In July 2010, the Indonesian Island Bali had hosted a Pre-Tiger Summit Partners’ Dialogue Meeting in which a Global Tiger Recovery programme was drafted. After that, the World Tiger Heads of Government Summit was held at St Petersburg in Russia from September 15 to 18, 2010. After two years of deliberations, 13 Tiger-range countries finalized an ambitious global programme for restoring the population of wild tigers, whose count now stands less than 3,000 across the world. According to the Global Tiger Initiative (GTI), the GTRP has a high probability of success because all 13 TRCs are working in concert.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module