Consider the following:
1. Oxides of Carbon, Sulphur, Nitrogen
2. Ozone
3. Lead
Which among the above is / are considered as pollutants in the recently launched National Air Quality Index (AQI)?

Answer: [D] 1, 2 & 3

National Air Quality Index (AQI) has been launched to disseminate air quality information. The AQI has six categories of air quality,  viz Good, Satisfactory, Moderately polluted, Poor, Very Poor and Severe with distinct colour scheme. Each of these categories is associated with likely health impacts. AQI considers eight pollutants (PM10, PM 2.5, NO2, SO2, CO, O3, NH3 and Pb) for which short-term (upto 24-hourly averaging period) National Ambient Air Quality Standards are prescribed.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module