Amazon Rain Forest:
1. is shared by three countries viz. Brazil, Colombia and Peru
2. accounts for almost half of earth’s total rainforests
Which among the above statements is/ are correct?

Answer: [B] Only 2

The Amazon Rainforest covers most of the Amazon Basin of South America. This region includes territory belonging to nine nations. The majority of the forest is contained within Brazil, with 60% of the rainforest, followed by Peru with 13%, Colombian Amazon with 10%, and with minor amounts in, Venezuela, Ecuador, Bolivia, Guyana, Suriname and France (French Guiana). States or departments in four nations bear the name Amazonas after it. The Amazon represents over half of the planet’s remaining rainforests, and it comprises the largest and most species-rich tract of tropical rainforest in the world.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module