Which among the following states have Tribal Advisory Councils?
1. Mizoram
2. Odisha
3. Rajasthan
4. Madhya Pradesh
Choose the correct option from the codes given below:

Answer: [B] Only 2, 3 & 4

The Fifth schedule says that the Governor of the state in question will either annually or whenever so required by the President, make a report to the President regarding the administration of the Scheduled Areas in that State. Here, it has been made clear that the executive power of the Union shall extend to the giving of directions to the State as to the administration of the said areas.

To take care of the welfare of the scheduled tribes, a Tribal Advisory Council is constituted in each state with a scheduled area. This Tribal Advisory Council will be made of maximum 20 members out of which the 3/4th will be representatives of the Scheduled Tribes in the Legislative Assembly of the State.

At present, the Fifth Schedule covers Tribal areas in 9 states of India viz. Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Orissa and Rajasthan.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module