Consider the following states:
1. Arunachal Pradesh
2. Nagaland
3. Meghalaya
4. Mizoram
The inner line permit (ILP) is required by Indian citizens to enter Which among the above states?

Answer: [B] Only 1, 2 & 4

The inner line permit (ILP) system, required by Indian citizens to enter Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Mizoram.

Inner Line Permit is an official travel document issued by the Government of India to allow inward travel of an Indian citizen into a protected/restricted area for a limited period. It is obligatory for Indian citizens from outside those states to obtain permit for entering into the protected state. The document is an effort by the Government to regulate movement to certain areas located near the international border of India. There are two kinds of official permits prescribed by Government for entering into any area within Arunachal Pradesh. They are, Inner Line Permit (ILP) and Protected Area Permit (PAP). Any Domestic tourist coming to the mentioned state has to obtain an Inner Line Permit. The Permit is granted as a routine for the tourists and so it should not deter any tourist from coming to state. All the foreigners are required have the Protection Area Permit or PAP for entering into the state. They can obtain the Protected Area Permit from, All Indian Missions abroad, and Home ministry.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module