Which of the following are protected areas defined in the Wildlife Protection Act?
1. Community Reserves
2. Eco Sensitive Zones
3. Biosphere Reserves
Select the correct option from the codes given below:

Answer: [C] Only 1

Community Reserves are one of the 4 kinds of protected areas mentioned in the Wildlife Protection Act,. The Environment Protection Act, 1986 does not mention the word “Eco-sensitive Zones”. The section 3(2)(v) of the Act, says that Central Government can restrict areas in which any industries, operations or processes or class of industries, operations or processes shall not be carried out or shall be carried out subject to certain safeguards, and this has been used indirectly to declare ecosensitive zones. Similarly there is no legislation that fixed the Biosphere reserves in India.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module