The part IX-A makes provisions for Nagar Panchayats for the areas which are__:

Answer: [C] in transition from a rural area to urban area

A new part IX-A relating to the Municipalities added to provide for among other things, constitution of three types of Municipalities, i.e., Nagar Panchayats for areas in transition from a rural area to urban area, Municipal Councils for smaller urban areas and Municipal Corporation for large urban areas, fixed duration of municipalities, appointment of state election commission, appointment of state finance commission and constitution of metropolitan and district planning committees.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module