Consider the following:
1. Sahitya Akademi Award
2. Saraswati Samman
3. Vyas Samman
4. Jnanpith Award
Which among the above is / are given to the writers of only those languages which are included in Eighth Schedule of Constitution of India?

Answer: [D] Only 2 & 4

Sahitya Akademi Award is given to writers of outstanding works in one of the following twenty-four major Indian languages. Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, English, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Rajasthani, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu.

The Saraswati Samman is given for outstanding prose or poetry literary works in any Indian language listed in Schedule VIII. Vyas Samman is for Hindi Writers. Jnanpith Award is given to best creative literary writing by any Indian citizen in any of the languages included in the VIII Schedule of the Indian Constitution. From 1982 onwards, the award is given for overall contribution to literature; earlier a specific work used to be cited.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module