1. is largest economic community of Africa
2. has members from East and Southern Africa
3. has a Free Trade Agreement with India
Which among the above is / are correct statements?

Answer: [A] Only 1 & 2

Common Market for East and Southern Africa (COMESA) is Africa’s largest economic community comprising of 19 member states namely Burundi, Comoros, Dr. Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Swaziland, Sudan, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. A Joint Study Group (JSG) has been set up to examine the feasibility of a FTA between India and COMESA.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module