In the three tier Panchayati Raj System
1. Gram Sabha is a permanent unit
2. Gram Sabha is lowest tier
3. Panchayat Samiti is the "administrative authority' at the block level
Which among the above is / are correct?

Answer: [C] Only 1 & 3

In the Panchayat Raj System Gram Sabha is the only permanent unit. Duration of Panchayat i.e. Mukhiyas and other members of Panchayat continue for 5 years only from the date appointed for the first meeting, but the villagers do not change. The three tier Panchayat Institutions consist of a Gram Panchayat at the lowest level, Panchayat samiti at the Block level and Zila Parishad of the District level. Gram Sabha is not a tier.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module