After the revolt of 1857, via the Government of India Act 1858, the Crown had assumed the direct responsibility for the Government of India. By this act, all legislative, administrative and Financial Powers came to be concentrated in which among the following?

Answer: [C] Secretary of State for India and his council

The major change in the Government of India act 1858 was the creation of the Secretary of State for India, who was to be assisted by a council of 15 members, of whom at least 9 members would have to have worked in India for not less than 10 years and would have left India not more than 10 years before  appointment  to the Council. With this, the Board of Control and the Court of Directors were also abolished. The Secretary of State for India was the head of the India Office now and the Governor-General was subordinate to him.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module