Consider the following statements:
1. National Parks
2. Wildlife Sanctuaries
3. Tiger Reserves
The state governments can declare a particular area as which among the above categories?

Answer: [B] Only 1 & 2

Please note that Tiger Reserves come under the “Project Tiger” that was launched in April, 1973. It was later given statutory backing by amendment of the Wildlife Protection Act in 2006 and thus National Tiger Conservation Authority was created. The NTCA is responsible for implementation of the Project Tiger plan to protect endangered tigers. It comes under Central Government, so central government declares the tiger reserves, though state governments can send their proposals and requests to NTCA.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module