Which of the following is / are members of the Governing Council of NITI Aayog?

  1. Prime Minister
  2. Governors of States
  3. Administrators of the Union Territories
  4. Chief Ministers of States

Select the correct option from the codes given below:

Answer: [B] Only 3 & 4

Composition of NITI Ayog

  • Chairperson -Prime Minister
  • Governing Council – Its members are Chief Ministers and Administrators of the Union Territories
  • Regional Councils -These would be created as per need and its members would be chief ministers and administrators of UTs of respective regions.
  • Vice-Chairperson – The Vice-chairperson of the Niti Ayog will be appointed by Prime Minister. The first Vice-Chairperson of Niti Ayog is Arvind Panagariya.

Further, the Niti Ayog has full time members (number unspecified), part time members (maximum 2 , these would be scholars from universities and research institutions), Ex-officio members (maximum 4, these are ministers from Union Council of Ministers), Special Invitees (appointed by PM for fixed tenure. Finally, there is a Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Niti Ayog, who is appointed by Prime Minister and has a rank similar to Secretary to the Government of India.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module