Which of the following gases are recognized as principal greenhouse gases with respect to Kyoto protocol?
1. Carbon dioxide (CO2)
2. Carbon Monoxide (CO)
3. Ozone (O3)
4. Hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs)
5. Perfluorocarbons (PFCs)
6. Sulphur hexafluoride (SF6)
Select the correct option from codes given below:

Answer: [B] 1, 4, 5 and 6 Only

The targets for the first commitment period of the Kyoto Protocol cover emissions of the six main greenhouse gases, namely:
• Carbon dioxide (CO2);
• Methane (CH4);
• Nitrous oxide (N2O);
• Hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs);
• Perfluorocarbons (PFCs); and
• Sulphur hexafluoride (SF6)

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module