Which of the following states is/are not included in the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution?

  1. Nagaland
  2. Meghalaya
  3. Manipur
  4. Mizoram 

Select the correct option from codes given below:

Answer: [B] 1 & 3 Only

The four states included in the Sixth Schedule are: Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram. These states contain Tribal Areas which are technically different from the Scheduled Areas. Though these areas fall within the executive authority of the state, provision has been made for the creation of the District Councils and regional councils for the exercise of the certain legislative and judicial powers.  Each district is an autonomous district and Governor can modify/ divide the boundaries of the said Tribal areas by notification.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module