Consider the following jurisdictions:

  1. Original Jurisdiction
  2. Writ Jurisdiction
  3. Advisory Jurisdiction

Which of the above is/are exercised by High Courts in India?

Answer: [A] 1 & 2 Only

Advisory Jurisdiction is exercised only by Supreme Court. Supreme Court advises President, if President seeks advice from Supreme Court. High court enjoys the following jurisdiction and powers: 1. Original jurisdiction. 2. Writ jurisdiction. 3. Appellate jurisdiction. 4. Supervisory jurisdiction. 5. Control over subordinate courts. 6. A court of record. 7. Power of judicial review. It has advisory functions but that is not called advisory “jurisdiction”.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module