Consider the following statements about the Committee on Public Undertakings:

  1. The Committee has a fixed term of five years
  2. A Minister is not eligible to become a member of the committee
  3. The Committee consists of members from both Houses of Parliament

    Which of the above statements is/are correct?

Answer: [B] 2 & 3 Only

First statement is incorrect because the term of the committee is one year. Second statement is correct. Third statement is also correct because the Committee consists of not more than 22 members comprising 15 members elected by Lok Sabha from amongst its members according to the principle of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote and not more than 7 members from Rajya Sabha to be nominated by that House for being associated with the Committee.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module