Consider the following statements about Railway Convention Committee:

  1. The Chairman of the Committee is appointed by the Speaker from amongst the members of the Committee
  2. The Committee reviews the rate of dividend which is payable by the Railway Undertaking to the General Revenues 

    Which of the above statements is/are correct?

Answer: [C] Both 1 & 2

The Railway Convention Committee which was first set up in 1949 is an ad-hoc parliamentary committee with 18 members (12 Lok Sabha+ 6 Rajya Sabha). The members are nominated by Speaker / Chairman of respective House. The Chairperson of the Committee is nominated by the Speaker from amongst its members. It makes recommendations which define financial relationship between the Central Government and the Railways.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module