Consider the following authorities:

  1. Judges of High Court
  2. Chairperson of Law Commission of India
  3. Lokayukta for a State

Which of the above is/are appointed by the President?

Answer: [C] 1 Only

The Governor of a State appoints the Lokayukta after due consultations with Chief Justice of High Court of the State. Clause (1) of Article 217 says that “every judge of a High Court shall be appointed by the President by warrant under his hand and seal after consultation with the Chief Justice of India. Chairperson of Law Commission of India is appointed by the Central Government. 

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module