Consider the following bodies/organizations:

  1. Central Ground Water Authority
  2. Airport Economic Regularity Authority
  3. Central pollution Control Board

Which of the above is/are statutory body/bodies?

Answer: [D] 1, 2 & 3

Central Ground Water Authority (CGWA) has been constituted under Section 3 (3) of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986. The Airports Economic Regulatory Authority (AERA) is a statutory body constituted under the Airports Economic Regulatory Authority of India Act, 2008. The Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) is a statutory body set up under the Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1974.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module