Consider the following celestial bodies:

  1. Ceres
  2. Makemake
  3. Eris
  4. Pluto

Which of the above have been recognized as dwarf planets by the International Astronomical Union (IAU)?

Answer: [D] 1, 2, 3 & 4

The International Astronomical Union (IAU) currently recognizes five dwarf planets: Ceres, Pluto, Haumea, Makemake, and Eris. A dwarf planet is a planetary-mass object that is neither a planet nor a natural satellite. It is in direct orbit of the Sun, and is massive enough for its gravity to crush it.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module