Consider the following pairs:

  1. Confluence of Bhagirathi and Alaknanda→ Devprayag
  2. Confluence of Alaknanda and Mandakini→ Rudraprayag
  3. Confluence of Alaknanda and Pindar Ganga→ Karnaprayag

  Which of the above is/are correct?

Answer: [D] 1, 2 & 3

The five confluences, known as the Panch Prayag, are all along the Alaknanda. They are, in downstream order, Vishnuprayag, where the Dhauliganga joins the Alaknanda; Nandprayag, where the Nandakini joins; Karnaprayag, where the Pindar joins, Rudraprayag, where the Mandakini joins; and finally, Devprayag, where the Bhagirathi joins the Alaknanda to form the Ganges River.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module