Consider the following pairs:

  1. Kumaon Himalayas→ Lies between Sutlej and the Kali rivers
  2. Nepal Himalayas→ Lies between Kali and Teesta rivers
  3. Assam Himalayas→ Lies between Teesta and Brahmaputra rivers

  Which of the above is/are correct?

Answer: [D] 1, 2 & 3

Kumaon Himalayas: It extends between the rivers Sutlej and the Kali. This stretch measures about 320 km and it lies to the east of the Punjab Himalayas.
Nepal Himalayas: This part of the Himalayas extends between the rivers Kali on the west and the Teesta to the east. The stretch measures 800 km. The highest peaks of the Himalayas lie in this zone.
Assam Himalayas: This is the easternmost part of the Himalayas and its western and eastern bounda­ries are marked by the rivers Teesta and the Brahmaputra, respectively. This stretch measures about 750 km. The height of the mountains in this zone is the least.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module