Consider the following statements about the Railway Convention Committee:

  1. It consists of members from Lok Sabha only
  2. Chairman of Railway Convention Committee is appointed by Lok Sabha speaker

 Which among the above statements is/are correct?

Answer: [B] 2 Only

First statement is incorrect because the Railway Convention Committee consists of 12 members from Lok sabha and 6 members from Rajya Sabha. Second statement is correct because the chairman of the committee is appointed by the speaker from among its members.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module